truck driver shortage 2019

The word skill keeps coming up. A federal government initiative to cut down on truckers exceeding their daily driving-time limits is good for safety but reduces driver earnings. All big carriers offer you big bonus ($5000-10,000)(bones the dumb dog keeping on chasing it won’t never reaches its (bones)once him or her almost reaches into the carrier will cutting back you miles. treat drivers with respect, get them home when they ask, and pay them right. The industry ignores this safety issue. Lack of parking facilities along with increased detention time at shipping and receiving ,along with never being able to be at my own home or around family is 8 or 900 dollars a week worth thT? In short, the Bureau accepts that there is high turnover in the long-haul segment but is not willing to label this a driver shortage. The industry has refused to address the problem creating the perceived driver shortage. I have been doing this since 1973. Hi I have been a member of this community for 37 yrs. The opioid epidemic is a result of the medical industry and the public accepting self-serving “research” funded by drug firms who produced dangerous drugs. Will 2020 be the year when autonomous trucks gain traction? Many of these companies companies complain when our federal government fines them for underpaid drivers. First, driving a truck is a hard job. Jack Kerouac’s “On the Road” was an inspiration for a generation of drivers who liked the idea of traveling the country. Ill bet there would be “worker shortages” in other industries as well. The ATA is the largest national trade association for US truck carriers. The ATA is the largest national trade association for US truck carriers. Truck drivers are a vital link in the supply chain that keeps the American economy moving smoothly. Trucking moves about $700 billion of cargo in the U.S. annually. – concludes “as a whole, the market for truck drivers appears to work as well as any other blue-collar labor